ConvertedU Marketing Library Webinar Blog

Need help? You've come to the right place

What's New Getting Started Drag and Drop Standard Builder Integrations Center

Migrating from Previous WordPress Plugin Versions

If you installed our WordPress plugin before August of 2016, chances are you’re using Version 1. We’ve rebuilt our plugin with tons of new features, including:

  • Support for WordPress Multisite setups

  • Page-specific timed and exit Leadboxes

  • Leadbox shortcodes (so you can publish standard Leadboxes without needing to copy and paste their HTML)

  • An updated plugin interface 

You can update your plugin to gain access to these features without affecting your published pages. Because Version 2 of the plugin is hosted and developed separately, you’ll need to download it from your Leadpages account, following our instructions here: Installing the WordPress Plugin.  

Here’s what we recommend before migrating:

Check your plugin version

From your WordPress Dashboard, navigate to Plugins and check the version number for the “LeadPages connector” plugin. If you’re running any version starting with “1” (e.g. 1.2.0.5), you can update to Version 2. 

NOTE: If you’re running a plugin with a version number between 2.0–2.1 we also encourage you to upgrade. Version 2.1 (and beyond) includes fixes for several issues from the 2.0 version. 

Download Version 2 of the plugin

You can download the plugin from your account under Integrations › Plugins. For full instructions, please see Installing the WordPress Plugin (Downloading the plugin)

Delete Version 1

The two plugin versions can’t be installed simultaneously, so you’ll need to delete the old one before installing Version 2. Here’s how:

WARNING: When you deactivate your plugin, your Leadpages will not be accessible. Any published Leadpages will be restored and live as soon as you install the new plugin. 
  1. From your WordPress dashboard, click Plugins.
  2. Find the “LeadPages connector” plugin and click Deactivate. Your dashboard will automatically reload. 
  3. Hit Delete under the “LeadPages connector” plugin and confirm your decision. A confirmation message should appear. 

Activating the new plugin

After you delete your old plugin, you can upload and activate the new one. Navigate to Plugins › Add New. Choose Upload Plugin and select the plugin file from your computer. Click Install Now, then Activate Plugin. Click the Leadpages tab and log in using your Leadpages credentials. 

For more detailed instructions, click here

Frequently asked questions

What will happen to pages I’ve installed using the old plugin?

Your pages will go down temporarily as you deactivate and delete your old plugin. Once you install Version 2, any pages you’ve published will come back.

Can I stick with Version 1? 

You can continue using Version 1 of the plugin, but for the latest updates, features, and bug fixes, we recommend using Version 2. If you run into any issues using Version 2, please let us know. You can also download and install Version 1 of the plugin: 

  1. Navigate to the Leadpages tab in your Leadpages account. 
  2. Choose Publish Options from the Actions menu of any page. 
  3. Select the Other Publishing Options tab from the popup window, then click Get the Plugin.

Can I update the plugin directly from WordPress?

Yes, you can update the plugin directly from WordPress if you have Version 2.1 or above. Otherwise, follow the steps above to update your plugin.

 

(Updated February 7, 2017)


Please let us know if you have additional questions.

You can always file a support ticket if you have additional questions by clicking the Support button in your dashboard shown here or clicking here to file a support ticket.

 

You may also be interested in:

How Can I Publish My Leadpages?

Was this article helpful?
3 out of 3 found this helpful
Powered by Zendesk